Continuing screencast efforts with PIP

I am continuing to try to find the best setup for my screencasting with picture-in-picture (PIP) video from my webcam.

The synchronization and smoothness has been good for the last two G14FUN lectures, which is what I was  most worried about.
See: Lecture 12, Lecture 13, part a and Lecture 13, part b

However, I may have the lighting too bright? Or else I am still facing limitations of the webcams/laptop.

These latest PIP videos were recorded using my own Creative Livecam Optia, rather than the School’s logitech webcam. I am using a 40 watt bulb in my desk lamp (the maximum it takes). I am als keeping the desk lamp a bit further away from me than before (as recommended by Alan Mintey).

These recent screencasts are definitely a vast improvement on, for example, Lecture 1 and many of the other screencasts with PIP video available from http://www.maths.nott.ac.uk/MathsModules/G14FUN/LectureNotes.html

One response to “Continuing screencast efforts with PIP

  1. Nice use of screencasts! You might want to try Pixetell too, especially if you’re doing PIP, so that your students can see your screen and you at the same time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

