Recent recordings of classes

Yesterday I used Camtasia on my laptop to record two classes from my first year module G11FPM Foundations of Pure Mathematics (Lecture 2: Sets and Numbers and Workshop 1: About this Module) These are available as streaming video (requires flash player) from:

http://wirksworthii.nottingham.ac.uk/webcast/maths/G11FPM/FPM-Lecture2/

and

http://wirksworthii.nottingham.ac.uk/webcast/maths/G11FPM/FPM-Workshop1/

Unfortunately, my laptop was struggling, and the audio ends up several seconds out of sync (and with some bits missing). I have deliberately stopped the picture-in-picture bit after a few minutes, because the lack of synchronization becomes even more disturbing otherwise.

One possible cause of the problems is that the power at the mains socket I used might have been switched off. That does produce this sort of effect, but I don’t think that happened in this case. My current theory is that the problems come from my laptop shaking too much and going into hard-disk protection mode.

The reason the laptop shakes so much is that I have the laptop on a laptop stand on top of a box in order to get some extra height and a better angle. (I want my face to be visible when I am writing.) It would be fine if I forced myself to write slowly and gently, but I find this hard to do when explaining something enthusiastically! So next time I record this way, I will do without the laptop stand, and I will just use the plastic box for extra height. Perhaps that will cure the problem. I will report back sometime!

2 responses to “Recent recordings of classes

  1. Hi there,

    My name is Liz. I am a blogger at thefactortree.com – an adaptive/interactive online math learning curriculum. We focus on students from the pre-k to the 6th grade. I apologize for posting the info on here but I was unable to find the contact information for you.

    I just came across your blog and thought you have some great content on here, so I wanted to reach out to you and see if you would be interested in checking out our site and providing us with some feedback? We’ve added new features, new blog content are currently working on revamping our site – the new version should be out by the end of the month. If you like our service (which is currently free to use- but not for long), would you be willing to write about it? Please let me know as that would be incredibly helpful for us. We are always looking to partner with other education online sources so we would very much appreciate your feedback. I hope to hear from you.

    Regardless, thanks for writing and enjoy your day.

    Thank you, Liz

    We hope you check out our Facebook.com/FactorTree and Twitter.com/FactorTree pages to get to know us better.

    Like

  2. Hi there, just wanted to check in with you after the storm and see how you are doing. If you have some time to check out our site, that would be great as we are looking for feedback. Regardless, hope this finds you well and I look forward to hearing from you. -L

    Like

Leave a Reply

