Surface Pro 4: Episode 3

The new session has started, and I am now using my Surface Pro 4 to give my first year G11FPM Foundations of Pure Mathematics lectures.

Generally this is working OK. I still find that my hand occasionally touches something near the edges of the screen and brings up random menus, but hopefully I’ll get better with practice! Also, I hope my handwriting will improve a bit once I am back into the swing of things. Not that it is ever that good, but I think I can do better than I did today!

I am still using a blue plastic box to give me a bit of extra height. At one point today the Surface Pro slipped off the back of the box (it survived). So I am going to use the box in portrait mode from now on, not landscape!

One sad thing today was that the lectern microphone in the room was oversensitive, at least when combined with my loud lecturing voice. This resulted in voice distortion in my videos from the first day’s classes. Sensitivity should be better next time (thanks Terry!). I’m in a different room tomorrow, so we’ll see how things go there.

I quite like the fact that I can still use touch to pan and zoom while I have the pen tool selected in Bluebeam PDF Revu. That does take a bit of getting used to though.

Leave a Reply

